Office of the Chief Nurse Becoming a Nurse/Midwife Nursing/Midwifery in SA Professional Practice Workforce  
Nursing and Midwifery SA
Nurses and Midwives - Delivering the Futre
Spacer Spacer Spacer  
Spacer > Home Spacer
Arrow icon
Nursing and Midwifery Office
Spacer   Nursing and Midwifery Office Spacer
  > About the Nursing & Midwifery Office  
  > Nursing & Midwifery Office Projects  
  > Scholarships  
  > Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards  
  > Newsletter  
  > Publications  
  > CPS - CN&MIS Project  
The Nursing and Midwifery Office provides a state-wide focus on issues related to nursing and midwifery for SA Health and to the Minister for Health and Ageing. The Office also provides overall leadership to the nursing and midwifery professions by developing, implementing and monitoring policies, initiatives and strategies to ensure the provision of optimal nursing and midwifery services within the South Australian health system..

The Office is responsible for the strategic leadership, planning and policy framework for the nursing and midwifery profession that is congruent with SA Health directions and objectives.


The Nursing and Midwifery Office is staffed by the Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer, Principal Nursing and Midwifery Advisor, Principal Project Nurses/Midwives, Project Nurses and administrative support.

The Nursing and Midwifery Office team has a strategic focus on the following areas:

  • professional partnerships
  • workforce attraction, recruitment and retention
  • education, training and capability development for nurses and midwives
  • professional development
  • nursing/midwifery clinical information systems
  • legislation and regulations
  • quality and safety standards including clinical practice standards
  • nursing/midwifery metrics
  • practice development
  • nursing/midwifery research development
  • best practice environment for nurses and midwives
  • marketing.

Australian and New Zealand Council of Chief Nurses (ANZCCN)

The Australian and New Zealand Council of Chief Nurses (ANZCCN) is a network of all Chief Nursing Officers (CNO) in Australia and New Zealand working in Government. The Council provides high level leadership and strategic policy advice through communication and collaboration with nursing and midwifery, other health professions and key stakeholders, thereby enhancing a consistent response to nursing and midwifery and health related issues.

The ANZCCN (hereafter the Council) discussed a wide range of issues in the interests of promoting national consistency for nursing and midwifery and exchanges information in order to facilitate a robust and coordinated approach to nursing and midwifery policy and practice.

The ANZCCN Members are:

Ms Veronica Coome
Ms Susan Pearce
Ms Karen Parish
Ms Jane O'Malley

Dr Frances Hughes

Adj Assoc Prof Lydia Dennett
Adj Assoc Prof Fiona Stoker (Chair)
Ms Alison McMillan
Adj Assoc Professor Catherine Stoddart
Dr Rosemary Bryant
  ^ Top  
Department of Health logo. Link to Department's web site Page footer
Contact Us | Links | Site Map | FAQ | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Last Modified: 17 Jun 13 | Copyright © 2005 Department of Health
Page footer